Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Financial Assistance

“I can’t afford health insurance!”

You may have heard this, or you may have said it yourself.  But don’t give up before you start! You might qualify for financial help (called subsidies) based on your income.

Available types of assistance
  • A tax credit, sometimes referred to as an advanced premium tax credit (APTC), helps you pay for all or part of your monthly bill (or premium).
  • A discount (called a cost-sharing reduction) helps pay your share of costs for your medical care, such as deductibles, coinsurance, and copays. If you’re a member of a federally recognized tribe, you may qualify for additional cost-sharing benefits. See if you qualify for savings.
How do they determine financial help?

The federal poverty level (FPL) determines if you qualify for certain programs and benefits, including tax credits for purchasing health insurance. The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) determines which incomes are considered above or below the poverty level. The table below shows the FPLs for 2017; for the most current information, view the HHS poverty guidelines.

Share this story